The Parson’s Table Restaurant, formerly the Little River Methodist Church, is now a popular restaurant at 4305 McCorsley Drive in the Little River. The original Church was built in 1885 by H.J. Vereen, Sr., Robert Livingston and Dr. R.G. Sloan. Over the years the little building grew and eventually became a community center when the new church was built in 1952.
Its next stage of development was to become a restaurant. The main dining room shows the original hand hewn heart pine floors, and original clapboard pine siding covers the exterior walls. The stained glass windows in the dining rooms along with the large chandelier were originally in the Baptist Church of Mullins, South Carolina.
The beveled glass over the doorway into the dining room came from the White Mansion in Lumberton, North Carolina. The remaining stained and beveled glass comes from various old churches throughout the South, collected by previous owners Ed and Nancy Murray. The stunning original Tiffany lamp in the main room is from an old farm house in Atlanta.
Cypress from the area now covers the original pine-board interior walls, though clap board pine can still be seen on the walls in some of the outside rooms.
As you enter the restaurant itself, the large antique doors are also made of local cypress, and are over one hundred fifty years old.
The building was purchased by longtime Little River resident Mr. Toby Frye in 1978, and moved approximately two blocks south to the present location where it was converted into a restaurant.